LM3886 in parallel with servo circuit build attempt

Joined 2011
Paid Member
Hello everyone!

Looking for input on the schematic I have came up! I'm new to audio diy so I'm not expecting that it is perfect.

Power input is +-35V

Thank you!

sch.PNG

Joined 2009
Paid Member
You have the DC servo connected to the non-inverting input of the LM3886. I'd visit that in the simulator before cutting a PCB.

±35 V is right at the limit of the 7818 and 7918 regulators' capabilities. I'd allow for some margin or at least somehow guarantee by design that the supply voltage never exceeds ±35 V even during startup or mains voltage excursions.

Don't forget the Thiele network (L || R) on the output and the not-so-optional stability components (Cc, Cf, and Rf2 in the data sheet). You'll get better performance near clipping with these parts in the circuit.

Looks solid otherwise. Make sure to choose a resistor type with a low temperature coefficient for the two 0.1 Ω ballast resistors.

Tom

Reactions: 1 user
Joined 2011
Paid Member
You have the DC servo connected to the non-inverting input of the LM3886. I'd visit that in the simulator before cutting a PCB.

±35 V is right at the limit of the 7818 and 7918 regulators' capabilities. I'd allow for some margin or at least somehow guarantee by design that the supply voltage never exceeds ±35 V even during startup or mains voltage excursions.

Thank you for your input!

I am very new to this.

Any suggestions on simulator software?

And any recommendations on how to make sure the supply voltage not to exceed more than 35V? Will 56R resistor in series solve that?

Thank you!

Joined 2011
Paid Member
New version with balanced and unbalanced inputs.

Even though it is a simple circuit that I had in my mind, it turned into this huge behemoth with 32 capacitors, 30 resistors, 4 chips, 5 diodes, and 2 regulators. Never even though I will approach project like this before lol.