Laetacara dorsigera or curviceps?

Christhefishman

Hey guys

So I picked up some Laetacara curviceps recently (or at least that’s what they were sold as) but as they’ve settled in and colors and patterns have shown, I’m now questioning if they actually are curviceps.. after researching around I have a feeling they may be the very similar Laetacara dorsigera, especially since I’ve heard that dorsigera are often mistakenly sold as curviceps. This is my first time with dwarf acaras and I totally love them! Whether they are curviceps or dorsigera doesn’t matter since I love both but I am very curious to know exactly which I have! If anyone has experience with these guys please let me know what you think, and some tell tale signs to distinguish the two species. Thanks! 

6121BC12-B750-4E6D-8CDA-E56A6DF6731D.jpeg

23CE811D-664C-4389-B4C5-21E986AB7D44.jpeg

EC7E2BB3-1171-4F14-99AF-E7D1E8A2EDE7.jpeg

• Love 5

On 8/19/2022 at 8:10 PM, SimmonsSnailsNScales said:

I don't know anything about them, but I wanted to let you know that you have some gorgeous fish!

Thank you!! I’m absolutely loving these guys they show such nice colors while still showing cool cichlid behaviors but in a small size and without all the aggression. Laetacara is an awesome genus I wish I had kept them sooner! 

Beautiful fish. Just beautiful. I still miss our Laetacara araguaiae.

For comparison purposes, here are three photos in different lighting from other aquarists of L. dorsigera:

1784540352_ScreenShot2022-08-20at6_05_07AM.png.62c8fb98539726eafabe86a3d9257d95.png

Now, here are three comparable photos of L. curviceps:

677692277_ScreenShot2022-08-20at6_07_10AM.png.cba8f6b01772ca350c6b144cb81ff384.png

For me, the key is that black spot on the dorsal fin for L. dorsigera.

Now, you can find excellent photos online from Aquarium Glaser. Check here for a list of all Laetacara. Here a few samples for you to compare...